Friction can be a drag

In the interests of free speech…just make it interesting

Supporting the underdog

with 2 comments

Now that android mobile operating system is number two globally and well on its way to number one, do I need to get a windows mobile or apple phone in support of the underdog? 

These devices are transforming how we interact with the world, who are we empowering with our consumer choices and can we trust them to really empower us back?

There are natural monopolies, windows pc,  google search, facebook social network, apple ipod, android smartphone?

I usually prefer the alternative but somehow I find myself using all the natural monopolies, have I changed or has the dominating value of the natural monopoly changed?

My only justification is I have gotten better at picking winners and I use companies I find early, or underdogs to show some independence.

Actually, my next computer will be ubuntu all the way.   It finally works after much teething, but I just can’t do apple for phones.   Maybe palm?

Written by rexinfinite

November 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like good monopolies!
    Ps what constitutes a monopoly?

    Jack Shaftoe

    November 11, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    • A monopoly should have just over 80% of the market and be able to dictate terms in the supply chain, either up our down. The way Itunes can bully music publishers and google can bully websites and microsoft was able to bully the pc manufacturers… But ultimately these value monopolies are at the direction of consumers, not like the utility mobiles of the past, it keeps them at least a little honest.

      rexinfinite

      November 11, 2010 at 8:29 pm


Leave a Reply

